Compare
Last updated: 22 October 2026. Figures below are from each company's own pages, as of October 2026. Where a page did not show a number, this table says "not stated".
Backup encrypts on your device. The recovery key never leaves you, so Alix cannot read the files, even if asked. If you lose that key, we cannot recover the data. Your backups are stored in Switzerland. Free is 100 MB with no card. Starter is $1.99 a year for 5 GB, Plus $9.99 for 30 GB, Pro $24.99 for 75 GB, Max $99 for 300 GB, and Ultra $299 for 1 TB, all yearly. Paid checkout says Coming soon. A computer connects with an agent, a command-line client, or MCP. The agent can add backups and cannot read or delete them.
| Service | Entry price | Free tier | Who can read the files |
|---|---|---|---|
| Backup | $1.99/year for 5 GB. Paid checkout is Coming soon. | 100 MB, no card | Only you. The key stays on your device. |
| Backblaze | $99/year per computer, unlimited data | 15-day trial, no card | Optional private key. The default key is theirs. |
| Tresorit | not stated on the fetched pricing page | 3 GB, no card | Tresorit says it cannot read your files. |
| pCloud | 49.99 EUR/year for 500 GB | 10 GB | not stated on the pricing page |
| Proton Drive | $4.99/month for 200 GB | 5 GB | Proton says not even Proton can access the files. |
| IDrive | $0.25/month for 100 GB on Mini | 10 GB basic account | Optional private key. The default key is one you do not have to remember. |
| CrashPlan | $88/year per user for small-business endpoints | not stated | not stated on the pricing page |
Sources, as of October 2026: Backblaze, Tresorit, pCloud, Proton Drive, IDrive, CrashPlan. Backup's prices are the plans in this product. Questions: support@alix-services.com.